And then there’s Étoufee!

While most of my boils have no leftovers, the good folks at Groomer’s provided some of the biggest bugs we’ve seen all year–that, and the plentiful andouille and shrimp we added in provided enough for four pots.  So we ended up with a pound of two of fresh crawfish meat.  There are so many choices with this succulent meat!  I settled on creating étoufee for the family. Recipe coutesy of Nola Cuisine.  One critique: the Tony Chachere’s creole seasoning is too salty to put two table spoons in.  Tone it down significantly or you will be thirsty.

On a side note, when I went to get the crawdads, the guy helping me immediately asked where I was from.  I told him, and he said he knew because no one in Texas calls them “crawdads.”  He was from Dayton, OH.  We just grew up calling them crawdads.  Other people call them mudbugs.  

 

 

